Droppin' BASS, not BOMBS!!!!

DUCKA: Featured Artist for July 2012

http://soundcloud.com/duckaducka/truffle-shuffle-ducka-ft-wobb

Dj/Producer Name:  Ducka

City & Country Located in:  Littlehampton, United Kingdom

Cyber Locations:

http://ducka.bandcamp.com/
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ducka/162083487217667
http://www.soundcloud.com/duckaducka 
http://twitter.com/#!/duckaofficial
http://www.youtube.com/user/duckaofficial
http://www.reverbnation.com/ducka

Affiliations:

CHORDLESS Records (http://www.chordless.co.uk/) who are a new Brighton based record label with plenty of amazing artists involved, 97.1 (kemet FM), RadioBomb.

Bio:

Ducka is a producer from the south coast of the United Kingdom. After many years of making hip hop, I thought, F**K hip hop, Electro dance is SICK!  My problem was that I put so much effort into making my hip hop beats so unique, that rappers had a hard time keeping a solid flow.  So then teamed up with a French Dubstep producer called “Wobb”.   He has been working on completing his débute EP called…. well it hasn’t got a name yet, but all three tracks that are jamming,  trust me…!! The first one is called “Truffle Shuffle” (By far the best track on the EP in my opinion), the second track is called “Babe I’m gonna’ Leave you” (Sampled from Led Zeppelin) and the third is called “JAMAS!” –  which was created by sampling a half drunk Greek bartender. At the moment, Ducka is getting radio play from clubzone.fm, BBC,  Introducing, Ms Tempz London radio Show (96.1 Kemet FM) Toby Mearing’s Radio show (I forgot what it’s called) and some lady called Astra that plays his new tracks on some BBC Radio show you’ve never heard of 🙂

Ducka Is half way into creating a live looping show called “Moonlight Jazz Club” which WILL be amazing, the set up consists of 1x MPC, 1x Kaoss Pad, 1x live guitarist (Happy Stylingz) 1x MIDI piano, 1x electronic turntable and lots of synth and stuff, so look out for that.’

Q&A

•  How would you describe the type of music you produce?
mmm that's a tricky one..... I just start making music, then see what comes out I suppose, I'm really into chopping 
samples up to make other sounds, also lately I have been getting into creating Electronic Dance Music, it's so fun 
but excruciating to make.I guess I would describe my music as Unique, I don't like the thought of stealing someone 
elses ideas, I'd justprefer to make a song that I think sounds good, and is a reflection of my musical talent, not
 just a rip off of a good producers style, I have a certain style... I just don't know what it is haha I just make 
music that soundsgood to me and if people like it then yeah, cool.... I'm not out there to be a people pleasing 
whore. (no disrespect to whores, whores are awesome)

•  How did you get into making music?

I started off as a child playing the rugrats theme on the piano.  Then as I got older, my musical talent started to 
show, I brought a guitar, An electronic grand piano, an accordion, a drum set, a synthesizer, a bass guitar 
(used when I was in a shit puunk band called the indicators) I then enrolled onto a foundation degree in Music 
(also did a year of media to help with creativity), then went on to get a national diploma in music technology,
 where I met artists such as: Samplez, Audio Fiend, Sam Creed, Concept Of Thought, Ben Awfer, Frankie Stew.... and 
some more :) Now I'm planning on going to the Brighton institute of music, so yeah, started making music in college
, mainly funky hip hop really, then it just evolved from there :)

•  Who are your artist that influenced you the most and why?
Many artists influence me, but not in such a way that I feel I should replicate their music, but I do get ideas for
 beats, hat sequences, bass loops, freaky intro's from a wide spectrum of music straight from classical to jazz 
(one of my favourites) to reggae then dubstep and house, drumstep, BEARDYMAN! - also chilled instrumentals. One 
genre I'm really into is Hip hop, I can give you a few names of who I'm listening to at the moment if you want: 
Jehst (my favourite at the moment) Jam Baxter (can't wait for his new album) Fliptrix, (third eye of the storm is 
sick) funky DL has some cool stuff but I particularly like a track he did called "the nineties".To answer your 
question, all of the music I listen to Influences me in one way or another, but I don't startmaking a dance track 
then listen to my favourite dance track and think I'll just make it like that, I do my ownthing and I think that's 
what separates me from a lot of other wannabe artists.

• What equipment do you use to produce? What do you like about it the most?
I use guitars, a sampler (which is way fun :)) a synthesizer (massive) Mainly just using Cubase 5 at the moment and
 the college equipment until I can afford a mac :) I use a air of Sennheiser HD 501's to really get into the sound 
just before releasing a track... oh and generally I use a Shure SM-58 to record sounds. I would say my favourite 
piece of equipment is my synth, though not physical equipment, very fun to play with :) mmmm I controlit with a 
MIDI piano, I wonder if the piano is my favourite :) haha

• What are your ultimate goals in terms of musically?
To be on the radio a lot I guess and to be recognised as a good producer, oh and I want to make a song with 
Beardyman eventually :)

4 responses

  1. Ant

    boo yah, ducka’s killing it at the moment, well like the new EDM movement

    07/02/2012 at 12:33

  2. the_destroyer

    wow, good shit, featured artist, pretty damn good ducka!

    07/02/2012 at 17:02

  3. gregthedjay

    fuck! ducka’s come a long way from making hip hop, I like the new EDM he’s producing so I can’t complain 🙂

    07/03/2012 at 05:06

Leave a Reply

