Droppin' BASS, not BOMBS!!!!

RADIOBOMB SOUND SYSTEM OFFICIAL: Horn Loaded Subwoofer (Part 1)

Design and braces

Design and braces

It has begun, the official Radiobomb Sound System Horn Loaded Subwoofer is the culmination of an idea that has been lingering in the mind of mine for over 12 years now. Living in Los Angeles, it is hard to find space to live, let alone have a studio and even store a legitimate sound system. Usually, anyone who does events either rents sound or has a portable sound system that is not pro quality. Now that I have a place to build and store a large P.A. system and someone who is willing to invest in my ideas, Mr. Ghozt Radiobomb founder and long time partner in music production and friend of mine, it is about time to build.

Ever since I heard a true horn loaded sound system at a huge electronic music event, I was convinced and obsessed on having my own horn loaded system. I already had a really good JBL SRX sound system, but the sonic clarity of horn loaded enclosures was the defining moment in my quest for the best sound system. I even sold my JBL sound system and began researching and building other peoples designs.

Before I start, let me give you a brief history of who I am and my education and experience. I have been serious about sound system ever since I was a young boy. My father was a serious sound engineer and carpenter who built speaker cabinets, amplifiers from scratch and even wound coils to make cross-overs. When the Run DMC, Raising Hell Tape came out, I loved bumping that tape on my fathers Cerwin Vegas and Pioneer amplifier. I use to take off the speaker grill so I can watch the speaker vibrate, and that began my obsession with bass. As I got older, I began building speaker cabinets when I was 12 years old and began designing my own cabinets when I was 18 years old. I participated in local SPL and Q competitions for car audio, an I began building live P.A. sound systems because I was DJing and producing Hip Hop and Electronic music and was never satisfied with the cabinets that I could afford. To make a long story short, I built a few different designs from various websites, such as: speaker plans and billfitzmaurice. I loved what I heard and wanted to know more of how these designs work. So I began to study various successful designs that I was really impressed with, Dantley and Martin.
Assembling internal bracing and horn path

There was something I really wanted to change and that was to make a horn with a more compact design without sacrificing sound quality. When I entered various blogs with so called experts in horn loaded designs, I was met with a lot of negativity and arrogance when I asked various questions and proposed many ideas. The responses I got was quite surprising to me because I felt like I was talking to an Egyptologist, only they know about these designs and everyone else should not question their knowledge. Little do these people know how much knowledge, dedication, education and experience I had already with live sound reinforcement and sound in general.

I am also a scientist, recording engineer, carpenter, music producer, and bass lover who’s philosophy in life is that there is always a way to improve something. So I decided I am going to build and test a variety of prototypes according to what I learned and researched over the past 12 years of horn loaded designs. I came up with a horn loaded design that incorporated a few must have ideas, which are: 1. Hit 30hz with authority, 2. compact so one person can move it and it can fit through any door and in the trunk of a small SUV, 3. fit a single 15 inch woofer with over 9 feet of horn path, and 4. Make it look good and sound good. Everyone I spoke to said it could not be done because horns were suppose to be big and bulky, When I crunched the numbers and drew up the designs, I realized that it is possible. One rule of thumb is that math is absolute, numbers never lie. So then I began building and testing 6 different prototypes, I finalized a design that has met all these requirements. Here are some of the picture builds.

Assembling baffle

Assembling baffle

If you are a Drum&Bass, Dubstep, HipHop, Glitch, Breaks, Electronic Music, or any serious audiophile bass lover, then you would really appreciate these subwoofers. I thoroughly tested these woofers with various types of electronic music that has extended bass frequencies and I can say with confidence that these subs can hit 27hz. I have built a larger horn that can hit down to 20hz, but it did not fit the requirement of being compact so I settled on this design.

If you noticed that I used baltic berch, pl glue, and 1 5/8’s coarse screws. I put internal bracing every 8 inches because I tried putting it every 12 inches on my other design and noticed a little vibrations. The final product will have plexiglass with the Radiobomb logo laser cut into glass, two tone paint, and led lights. With the help of another friend, Gyu who is also a recording engineer and art student, is helping design the outer appearance of the speakers to match the sound quality.

The overlying idea of this speaker design is no compromise in any part of the build and sound, from building materials, speaker choice, and sound quality.

RADIOBOMB SUBWOOFER

RADIOBOMB SUBWOOFER

 

Ready to put the side on, woofer, speaker handles, top hat, paint, carpet, LED lights, plexiglass, and Radiobomb logo. Keep in tuned for the next step. The next build will be another horn loaded design, but it will be the matching tops for the official Radiobomb Sound System.

Leave a Reply

